Nosbisch Repeats in East Bay Pro Late Models

The second night of the 2019 season saw another five-division program with the Pro Late Models being the only class to repeat. Keith Nosbisch made it two-for-2019 as he backed up last week’s 30-lap Pro Late Model win another stop in Victory Lane Saturday night.

Nosbisch won his heat and dominated the main event, leading all 30-laps with only five cars still on the lead lap at the race’s end. “We left the car just like it was last week,” said Nosbisch in Victory Lane. “My crew isn’t here with me tonight, so I have some different help here and we got the win.”

Nosbisch was joined on the front row for the main event by Kenny Monahan, who earned the spot with a heat race win. Monahan was in contention until a spin while battling 2018 track champion Phillip Cobb for second. Cobb would go to claim second in the main with Dustin Perez scoring his second straight top five run by claiming third.

Nick Hebrank, who competed in the Outlaw 4 class in 2018, stepped into a Street Stock for the first time and made an impressive debut in winning the 15-lap main. Hebrank started last in his heat race and picked up a little experience, then capitalized on that to lead from the start. Heat race winner Mike Wilson had some early race troubles that dropped him from contention. Matt Bozeman powered past Billy Barstow for second on a lap three restart, but could not catch Hebrank.

The Late Model Sportsman opener saw 2018 champion Forrest Gough continue his winning ways. Gough, who claimed most of the late season victories in 2018, swept past early leader Tanner Cobb to claim the victory. Gough solidified his point lead for the new season with a heat win.

2019 Winternationals feature winner Larry Rarer needed every lap of the 15-lap main in the Micro Sprints to make a return to Victory Lane. William Burnside was the class of the field until Rarer was abole to chase him down in lapped traffic. Burnside held the lead as the du passed under the white flag, but Rarer ducked inside lapped traffic and gained the advantage. Heats were won by Rarer and 14-year-old Colin Strife, making his first start in a dirt track race.

Heat race winners Brandon Yates and Eric Knight battled in an even matchup throughout the 15-lap Outlaw 4 main event. Yates, who won the track championship by four points in 2018, was unable to escape the tenacious attack of Knight. The margin stayed constant lap after lap with the outcome uncertain until the checkered flag came out.

Racing resumes on Saturday, March 16 as the Gagel’s Modifieds, Late Model Sportsman, V-8 Warriors, Studio Red Salon Gladiators, Wingless Mini-Sprints and Florida Old Time Modifieds take the track. Top finishers from 2018 in Wingless Mini Sprints, Gagel’s Modifieds and Late Model Sportsman will be honored.


Feature: Keith Nosbisch (02), Phillip Cobb (71), Dustin Perez (8), Jesse Brown (7jr), Thomas Burnside (13B), Bryce Alexander (8x), Jason Russell (75R), Billy Boyd Sr. (3), Keven Devrieze (99), Kenny Monahan (311), Jason Pope (102), Doug Horton (46)


Feature: Nick Hebrank (24), Matt Bozeman (58), Billy Barstow (56), Mark Roadarmel (75B), Jerry Bruce (12), William Pugh (15), Allen Bailey (51), Thomas Braswell (67), Mike Wilson (68)


Feature: Forrest Gough (21), Tanner Cobb (03), Daniel Woody (29), Buck Woodhouse (55)


Feature: Larry Rarer (97z), William Burnside (13), William Brannan (60), Colin Strife (46), Paul Seburn (23), Mike Meyers (7), Jerod Meyers (0), Chris Livernois Jr. (71), Doug Dyal (97D), Chris Diamond (9), Corey Dyal (00D). DNS – Joe Bartow (3)


Feature: Brandon Yates (53), Eric Knight (7), Cecil Martin (15), Stephen Hohlbaugh (23S), Michael Ridgeway (47), Robert Schrunk (03), Trey Ford (40F), Candice Kealy (D4R), Alan Weeks (5). DNS – Christopher Thomas (27)