Bronson Triumphant in Late Models in Gene Slaughter Memorial Races

Kyle Bronson swept to the lead on lap 21 of the 50-lap Pro Late Model main event in a triumphant return to East Bay Raceway Park. Bronson, who focuses on traveling Late Model events, made a special stop at East Bay to honor the late Gene Slaughter, East Bay’s long time tire man.

Keith Nosbisch took the early race lead in the 19-car field. Steve Mathis moved to challenge Nosbisch on lap 6 and held the spot for five laps before Doug Horton swept past. On lap 18, Bronson moved to the top three and asserted himself at the front three laps later.

Bronson’s earlier visit to Victory Lane came during Winternationals earlier this year. He told the crowd he would be back for the season finale on Dec. 15.

Doug Watson, Mathis and Nosbisch were heat winners.

The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds held a 20-lap feature that saw point leader Bryan Bernhardt run a masterful race to victory. Heat races were won by Buzzie Reutimann and Mavrick Varnadore.

In preparation for next week’s Gary Gay Memorial paying a hefty purse, Street Stocks opened the night’s features will an exciting battle between Jimmy Baker and Dennis Williams. In the end, it would be Baker coming out on top as the defending divisions champion continues to showcase the abilities of his new racecar at his command. Baker and Williams had started the night with preliminary wins.

Non-winged Mini Sprints brought Robby Hoffmann back to the winner’s circle in a race that saw multiple leaders. Dusty Cates and Jamie Tinkham each took a turn at the front, but those two collided after Hoffmann moved out front. Cates and Hoffmann claimed heat wins.

The Gladiator class was strong with 20 cars in attendance. Brittany Hart picked up her first career heat race win and recorded her best feature finish, chasing eventual winner Daniel Bowman to he checkered flag for second place. Bowman solidified his point lead in a quest to repeat as division champion. Bowman and Daniel Casey joined Hart as preliminary winners.

The next action for East Bay Raceway Park is Saturday, November 3. The Gary Gay Memorial for Street Stocks, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Sprints, Gladiators and  Micro Sprints provide the excitement.


Feature: Kyle Bronson (40B), Doug Horton (11), Keith Nosbisch (02), Travis Varnadore (95V), Josh Peacock (21P), Doug Watson (07), Steve Mathis Jr. (95), Steven Brendle (141), Eric Moon (00), John Norris (87), Adam Boyd (6), Megan Meyer (11M), Roger Crouse (15), Dustin Perez (8), Phillip Cobb (03), TJ LaFlamboy (44), Thomas Burnside (13), Billy Boyd Sr (3), Jack Nosbisch Jr. (14).


Feature: Bryan Bernhardt (B69), Phillip Cobb (03), Dale Kelley (22), Roger Crouse (15), Buzzie Reutimann (00), Michael Cherry (17c), Billy Howard Jr. (47), Eric Moon (18), Seth Geary (7G), Rick Hall (53), Sean Monaghan (21), Ray Durrance Jr. (2), Rich Pratt (78), Don Crandall (9c), Pat Passanise (24), Jerol Stepp (23), Mavrick Varnadore (4)


Feature: Jimmy Baker (69x), Dennis Williams (24), Timmy Gay (90), David Barwick II (89), John Bradley (57), Henry Burnside (31), Tim Dowling (55), Allen Bailey (51), Robert Tyler (99), Ken Lawrence (38), Thomas Pratt (22)


Feature: Robby Hoffmann (66), Jamie Tinkham (51), Dusty Cates (6), Austin Craddock (17), David Hall (67), Brad Sutton (9), AJ Parrish (17A), Michael Luckert (93), Dallas Casey (87). DNS – Ronnie Whitley


Feature: Daniel Bowman (46), Brittany Hart (81H), Jeremy Lanier (22), Bailey Purcell (14), Kever Raulerson (99R), Robert Kissam (911), Logan Casteel (7), Jeff Smith (15), Kayla Handy (8), Daniel Casey (3D), Rick Rutledge Sr. (4), Ricky Rutledge Jr. (124), Kip Cooper (2), Davey Martin (55), Johnathan Wood (56B), Mark Roadarmel Jr. (81), Rodney Martin (21), Ethan Dansby (26), Patrick Tabb (03). DQ – Andrew Hall (99H)