Maddox Claims East Bay Top Gun Sprints



A.J. Maddox survived a blown right rear tire on the last lap of the 25-lap Top Gun Sprints main to claim his second series victory at East Bay in 2018. Maddox, who had earlier won his heat race, which gave him the keys to the Jeff Barfield Memorial Clean Sweep Award, limped to the line ahead of early race leader Billy Bridges.

Maddox took the lead from Bridges on the sixth lap and endured a combination of cautions and lapped traffic en route to stretching out the lead. Several position battles took place inside the top five, but Maddox clearly had the car to beat on this night.

Dylan Colding and Justin Webster joined Maddox as heat race winners

George Handy opened the night’s features by claiming his first victory in V8 Warrior action. Handy had to hold off the charge of last week’s feature winner Tommy Hill. Handy’s win allowed him to take a positive step in the defense of his 2017 track championship. Raymond Vann and Kalen Maynard has won the division’s preliminary events.

Brandon Yates broke through for his first 2018 feature win in the Outlaw 4 class. Yates went wire-to-wire to claim the title with heat race winner Nick Hebrank lurking in second.

Daniel Bowman fought off the challenges of Wayne Kissam through the late stages of the Gladiator 15-lap feature to claim victory in the final event of the night. Kissam worked the top side, but just couldn’t complete the pass for victory. Kissam and Bowman won their heat races.

The Daytona Antique Auto Racing Association brought cars in three classes with David Kelley (Sprints), Bob Jordan (Midgets) and Jerry Jarrett (Modifieds) winning their 15-lap features.

East Bay Raceway Park will return to action on June 16 with the Larry Miller Memorial for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. The 50-lap main event will pay $2,000 to the winning driver. The Modifieds will be joined  by Street Stocks, Gladiators, Mini Sprints and the Florida Old Time Modifieds.


A.J. Maddox (3), Billy Bridges (11B), Justin Webster (21), Matt Kurtz (82), Dylan Colding (23D), Frank Carlsson (20), Shane Kreidler (52), Harley Zimmerman (00), Nikki Voisey (96), Keith Butler (19), Bryan Eckley (12B), Guy Bos (3K), Robbie Smith (6S), Clint Reynolds (07), Frank Beck (89), Kurt Taylor (55), Brandon Grubaugh (6G), Hayden Campbell (5), Ailenn Collins-Love (17C0. DNS – Anthony D’Alessio (01)


George Handy (105), Tommy Hill (5H), Raymond Vann (32), Jason Burnside (12J), Jessica Robbins (09), Scott Bane (23B), Robert Grant (36), Kalen Maynard (2), Michael Hart (99), Alan Smith (67), Bo Anderson (95), Charles Roach (14), Nick Brown (12), Bill Whitney (9), Gary Lucas (23)


Brandon Yates (53), Nick Hebrank (7), Eric Knight (7V), Jake Hampton (19), Billy Dukes Jr. (15), Mark Moniz (41E). DNS – Cecil Martin


Daniel Bowman (46), Wayne Kissam (07), Michael Meeks (41), Jeff Smith (15), Bryttany Hart (81H), Mark Roadarmel (81), Ricky Rutledge Jr. (124), Rick Rutledge Sr. (4), Bailey Purcell (14), Patrick Tabb (03), Johnathan Wood (56B), Robert Kissam (911), Daniel Casey (3D), Rodney Wingate (8), Thomas Adam (T2), Dave Wilber (24)



Bob Jordan (5), Barry Watson (41), Boyd Vannslyde (9), Wes Hill (V6)


Jerry Jarrett (97), Roger Herbach (4), Richard Iversen (61K), Carl Doughty (3), Steve {Parrish (38)


David Kelley (46), Louis Brashear (4K), Charlie Dean (52), Merle Strickland (21), Jimmy Miltner (4×4). DNS – Josh Rynd (15)