Ashton Winger wins Scott Thompson Memorial

Ashton Winger

Ashton Winger is the latest winner of the Scott Thompson Memorial 

Four classes of racing were on the card Saturday night at the Clay by the Bay as racing resumed after last week’s rainout.

The highlight of the night was the annual 50-lap Scott Thompson Memorial race in the Pro Late Model Division. Ashton Winger led the last five laps to capture the win. Phillip Cobb led the first 45 laps with Winger and Horton close behind.  Cobb looked to be the dominant car, but Winger would not be denied. Working through lapped traffic, the Georgia driver would take the lead as the laps wound down. Once in the lead, Winger pulled away for the decisive victory.  Doug Horton was second with Cobb third. Jack Nosbisch, Jr. and Travis Varnadore rounded out the top-5.  Mark Whitener, Stevie Mathis Jr. and Cobb were victorious in the heat races.

In the Outlaw 4s, Billy Dukes went to victory lane in the 15-lap feature. Vernon Hart Jr. finished second, ahead of  Steven Hohlbaugh, Mark Moniz and Bob Fleming. Nick Hebrank won the heat race.

The V8 Warriors put on a good show as Nick Brown went to victory lane.  It was a battle upfront most of the race as Brown sparred with 2017 track champion George Handy, Tommy Hill and Raymond Vann for most of the early race.  Handy finished second with Hill coming home third. Michael Hart drove to a fourth place finish. Jon Basquin had been in the mix early but fell to the rear, fighting back for a fifth place finish. Hill and Handy won the heats.

In the Gladiator division, Kever Raulerson picked up the win. Robert Kissam was second with Jeff Smith third. Daniel Bowman came home fourth after a wild ride as the laps wound down coming off turn 4. Daniel Casey rounded out the top five.  Raulerson and Steve Ashmore won the heat races.

The action cranks up again, Saturday, April 21, when the Top Gun Wingless Sprints, Late Model Sportsman, Street Stocks, FL Old Time Mods, and Mini Sprints hit the track for a night of racing.  We will also be honoring the 2017 champion in the Street Stocks.  The racing starts at 6:30pm.

Outlaw 4s

Billy Dukes Jr. , Vernon Hart Jr., Stephen Hohlbaugh, Mark Moniz, Bob Fleming

V8 Warriors

Nick Brown, George Handy, Tommy Hill, Michael Hart, Jon Basquin

Pro Late Models – Scott Thompson Memorial

Ashton Winger, Doug Horton, Phillip Cobb, Jack Nosbisch Jr, Travis Varnadore


Kever Raulerson, Robert Kissam, Jeff Smith, Daniel Bowman, Daniel Casey